Page 1 - TTMNOct2020.html
P. 1


                                                                                                                Fall 2020, Volume 1
                                                 MINNESOTA’S K–12 EDUCATION CONNECTIONTODAY                                     MN                ™

                         Wayzata CTE Coordinator is                                                Echo Park Elementary’s

                         ACTE National Award Finalist                           Qorsho Hassan is Teacher of the Year

                                            programs and activities. Her charge is creating                            Qorsho  Hassan,  a  fourth-grade  teacher
                                            innovative  opportunities  and  access  to  high                       at Echo Park Elementary in the Rosemount-
                                            wage,  in-demand  career  pathways  for  over                          Apple  Valley-Eagan  school  district,  is  the
                                            14,000 high school CTE students. Rakun has                             2020 Minnesota Teacher of the Year.
                                            been  an  active  member  of ACTE  for  fifteen                            Hassan  is  the  56th  recipient  of  the
                                            years.                                                                 prestigious award, and the second from Rose-
                                               Rakun  is  one  of  five  finalists  for  the                       mount-Apple Valley-Eagan Public Schools. An
                                            2021 national title. The national winner will                          independent selection committee representing
                                            be  announced  at  the  ACTE  Awards  Gala,                            Minnesota leaders in education, business and
                                            an  award  presentation  recognizing  the  best                        government chooses the Minnesota Teacher of
                                            CTE educators in the country. The event will                           the Year from individuals who are nominated
                                            take place on Thursday, December 3, during                             and who then choose to become a candidate.
                                            ACTE’s  Virtual  CareerTech  VISION  2020.
                                            The  Virtual  Awards  Gala  is  sponsored  by
                                            Express  Employment  Professionals,  Good-                               read More, page 19
                                            heart-Willcox, CareerSafe, and Stratasys. For
                                            more information about the ACTE Excellence
            The Association for Career and Technical   Awards, visit our webpage.
        Education  (ACTE)  announced  Jean  Rakun,                                          Central Middle School’s Ashley
        Career and Technical Education (CTE)/Perkins   About ACTE
        Coordinator and Hennepin West Perkins Con-                                          Farrington is National
        sortium Secondary Director at Wayzata Public   The Association for Career and Techni-
        Schools  Plymouth,  Minnesota,  as  the  2020   cal Education (ACTE) is the nation’s largest
        ACTE Region III Administrator of the Year.   not-for-profit  association  committed  to  the   Outstanding Assistant Principal
        This  award  recognizes  administrative  CTE   advancement of education that prepares youth
        professionals  at  the  school,  district,  county,   and  adults  for  successful  careers.  ACTE             Ashley  Farrington,  Wayzata  Public
        state, or federal level who have demonstrated   represents  the  community  of  CTE  profes-               Schools  assistant  principal  of  Wayzata
        leadership  in  ensuring  teacher  and  student   sionals,  including  educators,  administrators,         Central  Middle  School  in  Plymouth  and
        success  and  have  made  significant  contribu-  researchers, school counselors, guidance and             a  member  of  the  Minnesota  Elementary
        tions toward innovative, unique and effective   career  development  professionals  and  others            School  Principals’  Association  (MESPA)
        CTE programs.                       at  all  levels  of  education. ACTE  is  commit-                      and the National Association of Elementary
            Jean Rakun currently serves as the Career   ted  to  excellence  in  providing  advocacy,              School Principals (NAESP), is Minnesota’s
        and  Technical  Education  (CTE)  and  Perkins   public  awareness  and  access  to  resources,            2020  NAESP  National  Outstanding Assis-
        Coordinator  for  Wayzata  Public  Schools  in   professional  development  and  leadership                tant Principal. MESPA and NAESP present
        Wayzata,  Minnesota.  Rakun  is  also  the  sec-  opportunities.                                           this prestigious annual award.
        ondary Perkins leader for the Hennepin West
        Perkins Consortium – a partnership of eleven
        high  schools  and  two  community/technical                                        read More, page 22
        colleges.  For  the  past  twelve  years,  she  has   (763) 745-5000
        provided  direct  support  to  district  and  con-
        sortium  secondary  CTE  teachers  and  their

                         thank you to our advertisers for your generous support!

           First Technologies Inc.  •  Southwest Minnesota State University  •  Haas Factory Outlet / Productivity, Inc.  •  Winona State University
                       Minnesota State Community & Technical College  •  Metal Craft / Riverside  •  Herold Precision Manufacturing

           Uponor Manufacturing  •  eCybermission  •  BTD Manufacturing  •  Environmental & Technology Studies—St. Cloud State University
                        The College of St. Scholastica  •  St. Cloud State University Graduate Studies   •  International Wolf Center
   1   2   3   4   5   6